7 Wonders of Karnataka' Proclaimed in a Grand Glittering Ceremony

Chief Minister of Karnataka Basavaraj Bommai & Tourism Minister Anand Singh Make The Official Announcement

25th February 2023

This is the day to rejoice and celebrate the pride of Karnataka. Just as the world marvels at the beauty of the landmark Seven Wonders of the World, our land of Karnataka now boasts of its own Seven Wonders. The list is finally out! Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai has announced the ‘Seven Wonders of Karnataka,’ which represent the best of the state’s land and water, forest and sea, faith and science, architecture and sculpture, and history and heritage. The Seven Wonders showcase only the very best that this state has to offer.

The declaration of the Seven Wonders was made by Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai at a glittering event. In the ceremonial event, the chosen wonders were awarded a state certificate, which was received by the respective district commissioners.

The Seven Wonders of Karnataka are as follows:

  • 1. Hirebenakal Rock Tombs
  • 2. Hampi
  • 3. Gomateshwara
  • 4. Gol Gumbaz
  • 5. Mysore Palace
  • 6. Jog Falls
  • 7. Netrani Island

Addressing the gathering on this occasion, Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai said that the ‘Seven Wonders of Karnataka’ has created a fresh tourism model for the state. I have already set in motion the preparation of a detailed development plan for Hirebenakal, which is a part of this stellar list of wonders. The District Commissioners of each of the seven wonders are asked to submit a blueprint development report to upgrade the facilities at these places.

The Seven Wonders of Karnataka were scooped out after a year of persistent effort and hard work.

He expressed appreciation for the meticulous process of nomination, whittling down and finally arriving at the Seven Wonders of Karnataka. He lauded the project team for sowing the seeds for a great initiative. He asked that the project not stop here but rather continue as an annual event. By doing this, said the CM, more precious and lesser-known places are likely to emerge. These are not just tourism locations but excellent opportunities to impart the true stories of our rich history, heritage and culture, said Mr. Bommai.

Karnataka state tourism minister Anand Singh said, “Since I have taken the state tourism office, a number of development programmes have been initiated in tourism hotspots. Still, there is much more to do. The project of the Seven Wonders of Karnataka should be eternally kept alive. But, the legislative assembly elections are upon us shortly. It is the nature of politics for parties to change and power to shift hands.

There should be a commitment to continue protecting and promoting important tourism centers. In this, public cooperation is most important. It doesn’t matter who is in power, the district commissioners and tourism department officials should undertake the responsibility unfailingly.”

He further added that our country itself is a wonder. Our state is an even more beautiful wonder. There is no doubt that these chosen seven wonders have all that it takes to attract the most curious travellers of the world. He is of the opinion that with the right media promotion, these places will stay intact in the hearts and minds of people.”

Ambassador of the Seven Wonders of Karnataka project, popular actor Ramesh Aravind said that Karnataka is blessed with hundreds of wonders. When I was approached to wear the hat of responsibility in choosing just seven out of these hundreds of wonders, I immediately accepted as it is a work of honour. Every year, different beautiful women from across the world wear the Miss World crown. But these wonderful places have been wearing the crown of beauty for years on end.

Our scriptures have the beautiful phrase of Satyam-Shivam-Sundaram, which literally translates to Truth-Godliness-Beauty. It means that the truth of existence, more than being good, is an experience of Godliness. Similarly, if an idea has to be eternally beautiful, it has to possess these qualities of truth, Godliness and essence.

The Seven Wonders of Karnataka are not just a visual treat. They also carry the essence of belonging, along with reflecting our culture, heritage and, above all, truth, he explained. We may have many differences in the form of language, caste, creed and the God we worship. These Seven Wonders bring together all of us with our various differences of nationality, language and beliefs to agree on the beauty of these wonders. The chosen Seven Wonders have an extra edge for the great potential that they carry. They attract visitors from all over the world to our state to first plan their visit to these seven wonders. These places serve as lessons of our stories and heritage to keen students of our culture. This is the first such brave attempt in the state, making an official entry into the Seven Wonders, he said.

Koppal district commissioner Sundaresh Babu, Vijayanagara district commissioner T Venkatesh, Hassan district commissioner M S Archana, Vijayapura district commissioner Mahantesh Danammanavar, Mysuru district commissioner Dr. T V Rajendra, Shivamogga district commissioner representative deputy officer Pallavi, and Uttara Kannada district commissioner Prabhulinga Kavalikatti received the certificates and official declaration for the winning Wonders of Karnataka.

There was also thematic dance performance by the Performing Arts Team of REVA Institutions to introduce and celebrate the 7 wonders of Karnataka.